If I had taken a picture
For every time you smiled
I would have a creation of love
That spanned across the miles

If I had known this small hand
Would give my heart wings
I would have held it more often
And forgotten lesser things

If I had imagined that there were angels
With silken flowing hair
That gave God’s love freely…
By simply breathing our air

I would have hugged you more often
And frowned so much less
I would have dipped your dreams in chocolate
In spite of the mess

I would have understood that smiles are hugs
We give our broken hearts
And it doesn’t matter when you finish…
Only that you start

I would have seen that life isn’t
Always what we thought
And our souls cannot be purchased
And God’s love cannot be bought

I would have lined your path with rainbows
And little pots of gold
And given you more love and peace
Than your little hands could hold

I will not feel bad
About the things that I regret
About all of the goals
That I have not met

Instead I will give you
All I have and hold dear
This is knowledge
That God led you here

So beautiful soul,
Wherever your heart lands
I want you to know
That I finally understand

God has no boundaries
And has no sense of time
But our few precious moments
Are priceless treasures of mine

Please join me at WWW.dversepoets.com. every Tuesday at 3pm est

~~ From my heart to yours

