The Rest of My Days

 

 

 

Another month passes

All of a sudden it’s been a year

And the pain is still present

Because you are not here

 

So much has happened

Which you already know

And even though I miss you

My love still grows

 

I find your laughter

Everywhere the sun shines

Don’t worry…the sadness

That is all mine

 

You didn’t cause my tears

You didn’t cause the blues

You only brought smiles

Even if you didn’t intend to

 

I can imagine your home

Is one fit for a king

This is appropriate

Since you are a queen

 

You are my sister always

My very best friend

Things you always were

Up till the very end

 

So today I send love

Up to the stars

Knowing it will find you

Wherever you are

 

Know that even though at times

My heart feels heavy

I know when God took you

You were ready

 

Even now as I try to blink

Past the tears of my pain

I am thankful for your presence

My life will never be the same

 

And if I could touch another

Whose heart is breaking too

I would remind them of the blessing

Of knowing someone like you

 

I would tell them this is the sign

That love is our only task

And the rewards are all ours

We only need to ask

 

God will send us angels

Very similar to you

To remind us of our purpose

And the thing we should do

 

Give forgiveness often

And love with your entire soul

Lift up our neighbors

And watch our blessings begin to grow

 

So even though I know

I miss with each passing day

Your love was a blessing

God gave me everyday

 

So to you and to HIM

I give thanks and praise

For granting me enough love

To fill the rest of my days

 

 

