Lifting My Hands

My Father who lives in Heaven

As I bend my knees to declare my love

My heart feels so heavy

This will be this which I speak of

When I was a girl I used to dream

Of flying a rocket to the moon

Not about million dollar contracts

Or growing up too soon

I only thought about laughter

And having fun with friends

Not about drinking or drugs

Or fights that no one wins

I never debated religion

Or what our Creator should be called

Only that He was our source of love

The Father of us all

I could never find in any book

The intention of my heart

So I just loved peacefully

Never tearing others apart

I’m not sure when I first noticed

The condition of our world

Somewhere between adulthood

And that naïve little girl

Life began to be look grim

A sad and lonely place

With images so horrifying

They would never be erased

But once I saw a child killed

On a public street

And it wasn’t a movie

But the news on my TV

All of a sudden bloodshed

And violence was all around

And I so missed the days when

Our feet were planted on the ground

If I could have one wish

And have it immediately come true

It would be to have a clean slate

And to make everything brand new

There would be no separation

Or racial barrier lines

Or wars putting brother against brother

And no more picket lines

When our brother talked

We at least considered his stance

And we would give him an opportunity

At least give him a chance

We would be more kind and concerned

When our fellow man was attacked

No more talk about superiority

Or what another person lacked

There would be peace and prosperity

All across our great land

We would walk joyously together

Always reaching for each others hand

There would never come a moment

When any man could decide

That it was acceptable

It batter and abuse his wife

We wouldn’t hear about the terror

That children now do know

We would just plant our seeds of love

And watch them start to grow

Our forests would again flourish

Natural skyscrapers growing still

Animals could roam freely

As it was always your will

Our self destructive nature

Would come to a screeching end

And instead of making enemies

We created great new friends

Some may think this is foolish

That I dream too much

But I say it is never wrong

To expect better things and such

So every day when I close my eyes

Raising my thoughts for mankind to the sky

My wishes are never laughed at

My creator never wonders why

And while my thoughts my seem fruitless

To the ill will of my fellow man

I know my thoughts do please you

And that you understand

While our world is under attack

By its inhabitants each day

I ask for your guidance

And your help along the way

I pray one day what we say

And all the things we do

Will only show our gratitude

And how much that we love you

I lift my hands to Heaven

Knowing until then

You will be watching over us lovingly

Amen

