You

Once there was anguish

More pain than anyone knew

And God again proved His love

Because then came you

Rough around the edges

But so beautiful to the core

A warrior when needed

But there was so much more

So much more I needed to tell you

Much more that you needed to know

And oh how you were loved

I was amazed as I watched love grow

I had never visually imagined

Someone as unique as you

Could create so much balance

I’m glad that God knew

He knew I needed you

So He created a place

So in my hectic life

For you He made a space

One that I thought would last forever

I never imagined saying goodbye

And doing so caused so much pain

I thought I would surely die

But dying was not God’s plan for me yet

There was more I needed to do

So I hold my memories close

Thankful that there was you

Your voice kept me going

Long after the flesh had gone to pass

Reminding me to stop…slow down

That I didn’t want to move to fast

Take time to smell the flowers

Because they too have a short time

To leave footprints on your heart

Right along side of mine

Slow down in your speech

Use thoughtful words and phrase

Show your love through expression

We all need that these days

Remember its okay to cry about loss

But in your heartfelt pain

Recreate the laughter we shared

And learn to enjoy that again

Her voice would sometimes whisper

The pain will one day subside

It’s what you choose to with it

But only you can decide

Decide to move on with life

Decide to hold me forever in your heart

And know that in my bodies passing

Even death can’t keep us apart

Death is not a punishment

Or judgment God is placing

Just that my role in life was over

You have not been forsaken

Understand who you are

And the love you helped create

Know that your heart may feel pain

But God won’t allow it to break

So as my sister’s voice fades she says

There’s something I need you to do

Remember when I needed hope

Was when God gave me you

