The Best of Us All

We should never have cause

To mourn a child

Because we live in a world

That has simply gone wild

Children battered

Being constantly abused

The color of love

Is not the shade of a bruise

I have no understanding

Of how a parent can fore sake

The life of a child

The divine rules we do break

We have no right to injure

Or impose our gross interpretation

Of how we want life to be

Causing further alienation

Children are not little adults

They need our protection

Instead we have become the problem

The ongoing infection

I honestly can NOT tell you

I know why this occurred

And can’t get wrapped up in

How you might be disturbed

She was 9 years old

And then she was not

You were her father

I guess you forgot

So let me remind you

Her body was never yours to know

She was a baby…innocent

Now to never grow

So you took her life

To buy her silence about you

But let me give my voice

Another point of view

She no longer breathes

I think you should remember why

Because of what you did

Her silence you couldn’t buy

Children are true blessings

Each and every single one

Evidence of God is found

In our daughters and our sons

We must stop the violence

We can no longer turn away

Too many children are dying

Let us pray:

Oh Father…who is above Heaven

Please forgive our ignorant acts

Protect the children from us

For we know the facts

The fact is we neglect and abuse

The biggest blessings we’re given

We have no excuse

For the way we are living

Father please guard the children

We need to harbor them from the storm

It’s been our duty…our job

Since the day they were born

I don’t know when we lost our way

I just know that we did

Our children fell prey

We became sordid

Please remove the evil

Which flows through our veins

So we may meet you in Heaven

When we see you again

And too all those innocents

Which we sent home to you so fast

I hope you have finally found the love

You have needed at last

May you all have eternal peace

Knowing no harm can again befall

You TRULY are the very

Best of us all

 **RIP XIOMARA JONSALES-FERNANDEZ…we love you forever

