Wonder Why

I have always known God
Nothing anyone could say
Could tell me I don’t
No how…No way

I know of the power held
I understand the respect earned
But one day I saw Him
Let me tell you what I learned

I saw the majesty of an eagle
God’s unwaivering royalty
When I visited a sick friend
Just walked passed the nursery

These little tiny fingers
Ten sweet small toes
Eyes of an angel
Cute button nose

Yes I’ve known God my whole life
But until I met him face to face
I really had no ideas
Of our Savior’s reigning grace

My life was changed forever
I faced true reality
When I saw my Lord’s face
In that newborn baby

So Father as I write this note
Thank you for the remind
That biggest blessings can be seen
In the smallest treasures we find

Of course you love all the children
They are a sign of You
It’s why we should protect them
In all we say and do

I pray you show us the errors
So one day we can say without doubt
That God has been in us all along
Since we first came about

And when we finally learn
To protect the children from harm
We can join you in paradise
Not too cold…not too warm

So the next time you see a baby
Notice everyone who smiles close by
It’s because it’s the face of God
No need to wonder why

