Thankful Everyday

I huffed in aggrevation
So fed up with my life so far
Maybe people have it worse
Can’t imagine who they are

I sat down on a bench
Along a city dog park
I don’t mind animals
If they didn’t have to bark

There was a man along side of me
He smiled as he sang a tune
I snapped why are you singing
He said the song is for me…my smile is for you

Keep your smile to yourself
I shot backat the nice enough gent
My day has been lousy
My tolerence is spent

But he continued his song
For some reason is was grated
He smiled and added
It’s why I was created

Another creation talk
That’s just what I need
I don’t have time for that
I’m a different breed

That’s what most say he added
Perspective is how we connect
It’s about finding something
You may not expect

What happened to your day
Hope you don’t mind that I ask
But maybe it would help
You need to relax

I shouted…you don’t know me
Don’t pretend that you do
I’m sick of this life
And I’m getting sicker of you

Now…I don’t know what
Made me scream at him so
But he took a deep breath
And slowly let it go

Do you hear that dog barking
He went onward to say
It may seem bothersome
But it’s how he sounds when he plays

He’s not angry about the fact
He walks on all fours
He just knows he feels love
In fact probably wants more

He went on…I love this sky
So beautiful in this way
I interjected the sun isn’t out
The skies are an ugly gray

He laughed at my remark
Oh…you are one of those types
Everything has its place
All must be…just right

Then his voice it got softer
I almost a whisper I found
It felt kind of strange
I started looking around

Let me tell you a secret he said
With not so much finesse
You think you have it bad
But people are happy with less

Be thankful for your gifts
But before he got to finish
I said you don’t know my probllems
I have a long long list

I’m sure you do he replied
Most who have…do
We could all create that list
I could make one too

But would it really matter
When all is said and through
Would it make you happy if I
Was as bitter as you

The truth my dear child
He said as he stood up
There have been times when I
Thought I had enough

Then he unfolded a stick
Dark glasses he put on his face
I hadn’t remembered feeling so bad
I felt so out of place

He looked and still smiled
I haven’t seen in a while
I developed a strange illness
When I was just a child

Problems you may have….it’s true
I know why you feel that way
But give thanks because you
Woke up again today

You saw the sun rise
Can probably watch it set
But if I was bitter about that
What would I really get

So instead I sing a song
And smile to places unknown
In hopes my Creator will be pleased
For compassion i have shown

So next time you start complaining
About this and/or that
Forget what you want
Be thankful for what you have

Peace and blessings he said
He meant it from the top
I wish you much love and joy
I swear i never forgot

I hope you enjoted my story
Of how God always finds a way
To remind us in all things
To be thankful everday

