NO

My body does not give permission

Nor allow it to be so

No matter what we are told now

NO MEANS NO

My body is my own

I have no regard for those who

Say I didn’t fight enough

So I must have wanted to

Rape is not a dime store toy

It’s a cruelty beyond words

And anyone who says else

Is simply absurd

I didn’t really fight enough?

My body…mind needs to shut down

Wonder if such statements would be made

If YOUR life was turned upside down

Do you understand the torment

Do you understand the fear

After living with a rape

The last thing we need to hear

If she asked for it

Or she didn’t hit hard enough

She isn’t a victim

Maybe she likes it rough

If it seems I am being unkind

Or if my heart is being twisted

I will tell you I know a God

Who said…no…insisted

I be treated with respect

I am deemed as a Queen

Protected by a Creator

Who understands what I mean

When I say this one more time

NO matter who tells you so

In the instance of RAPE

No means NO

**My poem today is in response to a Superior Court Justice’s remarks about a rape case**

http://www.news.com.au/world/outrage-after-superior-court-judge-derek-johnson-claims-a-victims-body-can-prevent-rape/story-fndir2ev-1226536893797

 

To my readers…rape is a horrendous crime…not to be taken lightly. It takes so much courage to come forth and report this crime…PLEASE do not victimize her twice

 

 

I wish you all Peace

