Giving Thanks in 2012

 

This year has been a remarkable year for me. 2012 has been become my year of survival; and I wanted to take a moment to share that experience with you.

 

This will be my second complete year since my sister passed away. While many people, sometimes even myself; weren’t certain that I would survive it…I did. I survived the loneliness and grief that her absence left me with. I remembered to smile when her name ran across my lips. I talked about her and wrote about her every single time; my heart felt heavy. I reminded others how blessed they are every day; and how truly short life can be. While there may never be another beautiful blue eyed girl in my life; I am grateful for knowing her…my best friend from God. I often hope that she is looking down, not only in my sadness; but I hope she is watching when I am laughing and loving, too. There was never a more clear vision of my Creator, as when she was walking in my life. I hope that 2013; also brings you…that spectacular angel energy that I was blessed with.

 

This year we mourned; and when we thought we were done mourning…we mourned again. We mourned the death of Trayvon Martin, Xiomara Jonsales-Fernandez, Afton Allison, Amanda Todd, those beautiful angels in the Middle East, those innocent people in an Aurora movie theater, dutiful and diligent firefighters in Massachusetts and those sweet and courageous children and adults at Sandy Hook Elementary school. Each one of these deaths; reminded us of how fragile life is. We are reminded that nothing in life is guaranteed. I pray that one day we can be thankful for having known these blessed spirits; once the anger and shock of the situation has been minimized by the true blessings their lives brought to us.

 

This year I survived another stroke; I once again won a war that Lupus waged on my body. I never let these moments pass without being totally honest about them; Lupus is a constant thief. It tries to steal every inch of health, love, hope and goodness from us. We get to decide what we allow it to have. This is not to take away from anything that anyone else is suffering with; as we all have unique experiences. But in my final thoughts of 2012; LUPUS failed.

 

I am thankful to all of you. You have helped make my year beautiful. You have given me hope; when mine was depleting. You allowed me into your lives and you nurtured mine, by doing so. You made me painfully aware of the violence we create against our fellow man and also all the animals within our wonderful planet. I was reminded of the issues of child abuse, neglect, starvation, homelessness, racism, violence and indifference that we are spilling onto one another’s lives. This is a blessing because until we shine light into the dark…we don’t realize that we are the ones that live there.

 

We are the dwellers of the darkness. We live in the dark, without realizing that the battle lines are drawn every time we choose to say nothing.

 

I am thankful for my family this year, and every year. We have continued to stand firm and strong; you are the glue which holds my soul together. I love you all.

 

I am finally and always thankful for a most Gracious Creator. Thank you for having patience and love with me; I know I don’t always make it easy. Thank you for showing me where to shine the light; and for guiding me when true adversity had set in. I am forever grateful for your vision of my life; ALL I AM, IS ALL YOU WANT ME TO BE…I am humbled.

 

I wish us all the greatest new year; remember to love one another in our hearts, minds souls, tongues and ears…so divine love can guide us home.

