Being Me

 

I was once given a compliment

Although a short life it had

For it was followed with insult

Which made me feel so bad

 

Why was it necessary

I pondered in my thought

What outcome was expected

Which reaction was sought

 

Was he troubled by my smile

Did I laugh a little too much

Was he living a life of darkness

Of greed, vanity and such

 

Whatever his real reason

For saying things of cruel intent

I gave him my thoughts

And off…I then went

 

But it bothered me still

Not of him…but those like

Who say whatever they wish

As if they have a right

 

Make your moments count

For we may only get one

To do the work of God

And then that moment is done

 

Don’t waste it on ill humor

Don’t poison a hearts desire

Don’t dampen a sweet dream

Because you are on fire

 

Smile through your anger

Release it not on to me

For I cannot entertain

Such negative things

 

Give love with every breath

Be the one who gives

You have only a little time

Make the most of how you live

 

What is the lesson

Of this true but sad day

Turn the other cheek

It didn’t matter anyway

 

For no matter what is thought

Of who or what I will be

I serve a gracious God

Who said…I’m perfect at being me

