Sometimes She Forgets

 

I loved her since birth

Have never loved her less

There is only one thing

Sometimes…she forgets

 

She taught me how to spell

How to love and not fret

She has been my steady rock

But sometimes…she forgets

 

I’m sure I tried her patience

But her level of love was surely set

She’s a beautiful mother

But sometimes…she forgets

 

She forgets the little things

Things that wouldn’t matter to some

But we were told early

Better and worst days will come

 

Sometimes she forgets memories

Though I love her just the same

There’s nothing quite as hard as

When you forget a child’s name

 

But I smile at her always

Reminding her is my new cause

Filling those awkward moments

When in confusion she takes a pause

 

I fill them with I love you’s

I fill them with a song

I stand right beside her

Where a daughter does belong

 

When asked how long can I do this

Remind this angel of her past

Retelling stories and tales

Hoping the thought will somehow last

 

To that I can only promise

I will sing the songs of how we met

Because I will remember and love always

Even if sometimes…she forgets

 **This poem is dedicated to a very special friend of mine whose mother has Alzheimers. They are both beautiful souls…and I am blessed in just knowing them**

