I Will Survive

Dear John Smith
This letter is overdue
Don’t let the anonymity fool
I’m not protecting you

I am in fact freeing me
By telling your story loud
I’m tired of living in fear
And getting lost in a crowd

You are just a simple number
There are many…evil as you
Who steal a woman’s hope and joy
While robbing her virtue

You should be ashamed
But you never behaved as such
You scarred my inner self
Making me quiver to a loving touch

You made me afraid of life
You made me afraid of me
You made me question myself
Who I used to be

But on this day I tell you
I fear you no more
I’m not afraid of the torture
Or whatever you have in store

You may have taken a piece
Of a special part of me
But I refuse to become you
A blister on humanity

I am my Fathers daughter
I stand tall…head held high
My heart stronger than ever
A tear slips through my sigh

I am sorry I ever gave you
A single bit of power
Taking the life away
From this most beloved flower

I am sorry that you are so sorry
I regret ever taking part
In a relationship so violent
Where you broke more than my heart

But today I am wiser
Today I am aware
You are just a battle wound
To me…you aren’t there

So claim victory if you must
But I will tell you the truth
There is no injury so severe
That God won’t see me through

I am not your possession
I am not ill gotten gains
I survived your Evil ways
And my faith…it remains

So crawl back to your hole
Where true cowardice lights
I am a warrior…forever
And I will survive

