The Cafe

I was sitting quietly

 In a small café

Nothing too fancy

Just out of the way

An older woman sat

Across all alone

Along came a man…

Give me all that you own

The woman was unshaken

And softly smiled

How are you child…

Sit down a while

This angered the stranger

He had a menacing frown

Give me your money

I don’t want to sit down

I will give you all I have

She went on to say

But it won’t change

What led you here today

I know your path has been troubled

You’ve come so far

But listen to my child…

Because I see who you are

I don’t see your money or home

Those things can vary

I see a life made from love

Even if you are wary

I see the little boy

Who still holds out hope

That the troubled man…

On the unsteady slope

Will become the angel

That he was meant to be

It wasn’t chance son…

That brought you to me

Your whole life was planned

To the very last letter

The message I have for you…

May make things better

For any other person

You may have selected

May have given up

Or worse than you expected

But I, dear child,

I see you deeply

One with a good heart…

Who loves uniquely

I see the child in your soul

Crying for relief

I see the beauty in your eyes…

So far from a thief

Sit down my son…

Let me buy you a meal

What I am giving…

You could never steal

I am giving you your freedom

I am handing you your soul

I am feeding a broken heart…

And a life yet untold

I watched his hardened face soften…

A tear I wiped away

When the woman at the table

Spared his soul that day

I watched intently,

As she touched his hand so smooth

And by the end of her meal …

I saw him too

I saw the life filled with obstacles

And tears by the mile

A loving face he had….

Hidden away for a while

But by the time they both left the place

One thing I can decree

IN him she saw GOD…

Just as she saw it in me

Bless the woman for this lesson…

May we all again learn

That from which we came…

We most certainly shall return

