What About Me

I hate you she cries

Vile names he blurts out

Mommy and Daddy

What’s wrong now

This marriage was a mistake

A huge waste of my time

What about me?

Says innocent eyes

You are worthless

Cheater not a real man

But what about me?

Wrings her little hands

Hit me I dare you

I will have you locked up

Mommy what about me

Cries a voice not so tough

Throw out my clothes

I can start a life with her

As inaudible sobs

Careful not to stir

Mommy and Daddy

If this was a big mistake

What does that make me

Just another promise to break?

Start another life

Throw my daddy in prison

Do you hear her heart breaking

Are you even listening?

She loves you both

Use caution in your debates

Or you…Mommy and Daddy

Will be her first heart ache

So when waging this war

Use caution and care

For a little…what about me

May be standing there

                            ~ LM Young

