My Sister’s Keeper

 

I believe that the strongest and most sincere relationship that a person can have is with their brother or sister. Our brothers and sisters see us for who we really are; whether they want to admit it or not. They have seen us at our: Very worst and very best, at our weakest and strongest, falling in and out of love, in the most stressful and most joyous times in our lives. It is, in fact a relationship that is unparalleled. We know, even as children, that these are important relationships, because even as young girls…we are seeking the best friend equivalent to these God-given gifts. We will use terms such as, she is like my sister; to describe how close the two or few really are.

In families where the fabric is tightly woven, we understand what a treasure brothers and sisters can be to one another. We realize that even if we do not see eye to eye on millions of subjects and issues…we are family and therefore…who cares if we aren’t mirror images of one another?

I realize, also, that not all families have this closely knitted connection…and that is sad to me. We can take these gifts for granted; we may even cut off all ties and connections to them. While I would never impose my views of this topic on anyone…I can tell you this; my sister saved my life a million times, if she did it once. We weren’t raised together and came from opposite ends of the family tree. We never looked alike and we had friends that were polar opposites. We argued and grumbled at one another…and just when you would be certain that we would storm away…we smiled and moved on. We shared holidays and vacations; we shared her weddings and even a few funerals. Most importantly I knew, without question, she would never fail to be there for me.

I cherish moments when I can look back at my time with her and smile and reminisce about our times together. While her life was cut too short for my taste, she lived it well and never regretted a single moment. You just have to love that!!

The whole point of this is not to have an “oh woe is me” conversation. On the contrary, I have no regrets either…she lived a beautiful life and made lots of mistakes. She drank too much and never really found the man of her dreams. But she showed me what it was like to love another person in an unconditional way.

I loved her, in such a way, that I didn’t think possible…outside of my grandparents. I often was cross with her and we argued, as I said…but even in our worse moments…I would have walked across hot coals to help her. I never saw a dividing line between she and I, although I am certain they were there. And while I often didn’t like the things she did…I never loved her any less. The love we had couldn’t be shaken or unraveled.

This would be the point of this conversation. There is nothing that should keep all of us from loving one another just like this. I wasn’t in a relationship with her…we just loved. There must come a time in our lives when we decide that we love every one and every single thing that was created from the core…of which we were also created. We have brothers and sisters that live in countries and on continents that we have only read about. They will have had experiences that may never touch us in a million years. They will have struggled for generations, with poverty, slavery, genocide and hate hidden, as indifference. They will also have unique cultural experiences. The important point in all this is the knowledge of…none of the above makes them better or worse than we are. They are our brothers and sisters…and one day we will have to embrace that thought and idea.

If we began looking at one another, as brother and sister, how could we do any less than love and respect one another?

The whole concept behind this movement is simple…I am NOT my brother/sisters keeper…I AM MY BROTHER/SISTER.

I am them and they are me, therefore how can we do anything but love and support one another? It does not mean we will always agree, I doubt that is possible; even the greatest of relationships have differences that they must talk and work through. But it does mean that if I treat you with respect and we walk onward together…there is no enemy that we can’t defeat. And what is even better…if we are all brothers and sisters of the soul and heart…the only enemy that can be found…is within us.

