1500 Days

 

1500 days ago I experienced my FIRST REAL heartbreak.

1500 days ago was the first time I had noticed this emptiness in my heart.

1500 days ago was the last time her phone would call my house.

1500 days ago all our plans for the future, together, vanished.

1500 days ago…I started crying.

And all of these are true. But also:

1500 days ago I became thankful for just having known her.

1500 days ago I felt the need to share her with the world.

1500 days ago my moments with her became memories.

1500 days ago…life became more precious than silver or gold.

1500 days ago I learned how strong I REALLY am.

You see, 1500 days ago, she left this place. It was unexpected…but soon became reality.

And while the tears will still find me and often catch me off guard; I know she suffers no more.

I know that she is safe and no one can ever again cause her harm.

1500 days ago I became humbled…at how very fragile life can be.

And while I miss my sister, like nothing I have ever experienced, I know her love lifts me up.

I know she is watching over me and my family…smiling.

And sometimes when a tear rolls down my cheek unexpectedly…I swear I can feel her hand wipe it away.

So on this 1500th day…I celebrate life, love and an amazing woman.

So 1500 days later, she still makes me smile…when I think of her.

And my gift to you, on this 1500th day…embrace life.

Take no moment for granted.

Say, YES I CAN.

Then DO.

Take advantage of every opportunity you have in this life, to create a chain of hope.

Link with people…who may have given up.

Shine your light all over humanity.

Love everyone…especially YOURSELF.

You have to be strong…the world will test you.

And while I wouldn’t wish my 1500th day on ANYONE…

I made it…I am still here.

We have work to do…

For even on my 1500th day…

I love you still!

